Join us on Facebook Check out some fine contra dance videos on our YouTube channel! Email us Schedule of Dances and Special Events

Friday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7:30 to 8 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 8 to 11 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9:30 p.m. Saturday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7 to 7:30 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9 p.m. Location 3030 Thorn Street, San Diego, CA 92104  in the hall of Trinity United Methodist Church

Our Dance Schedule

Our dances are usually held on the first and third Fridays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month except when we reschedule to accommodate touring bands and callers, church events, or calendar oddities. Where appropriate, further information regarding special events is provided in the Special Events section below. For information on discounted prices, see our complete price schedule below. Please note: By popular demand, we have rescheduled our Saturday dances to begin and end one-half hour earlier than our Friday dances; please see the schedule above.

LEGEND

Local caller or local band Guest caller or guest band Link to the website of a guest caller or band Special announcements, events, and workshops

Fri, Dec. 1 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, Dec. 9 Chris Page Figure 8 $10

Fri, Dec. 15 Frannie Marr Chris Murphy $10

Sat, Dec. 23 JoAnn Koppany Arroyo Seco Boys $12

Sun, Dec. 31 New Year's Eve Dance  •  Details below $25

Fri, Jan. 5 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Sat, Jan. 13 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Fri, Jan. 19 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, Jan. 27 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Sat, Feb. 3 Meeting and Potluck with Country Dance & Song Society Board  •  Details below Bring food!

Sat, Feb. 3 David Millstone & Gaye Fifer Figure 8 $10

Sat, Feb. 10 JoAnn Koppany More the Merrier $10

Fri, Feb. 16 Martha Wild TBA TBA

Sat, Feb. 24 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Fri, Mar. 2 Frannie Marr Crooked $10

Sat, Mar. 10 Schottische Dance Workshop with JoAnn and Dave, 4-6 p.m.  •  Details TBA $5

Sat, Mar. 10 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, Mar. 16 Greg Frock Emil Olguín and Laura Light $15

Sat, Mar. 24 Chris Page Figure 8 $10

Fri, Mar. 30 Erik Erhardt Tectonic Shakedown $12

Fri, Apr. 6 Chris Page Wild and Crazy $10

Sat, Apr. 14 TBA More the Merrier TBA

Fri, Apr. 20 JoAnn Koppany Crooked $10

Sat, Apr. 28 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Special Events

New Year's Eve Contra Dance: Our grandest event of the year will feature callers Jack Mitchell and Frannie Marr, with music by guest band Box Percolate! Box Percolate is a talented group of musicians consisting of Alex Sturbaum (guitar and accordion) from the bands Gallimaufry, Countercurrent, and Waxwings; Amy Englesberg (keyboard and accordion) from the bands Free Raisins, Wake Up Robin, and Waxwings; and Audrey Knuth (fiddle) from the bands Free Raisins, The Gaslight Tinkers, and Wake Up Robin. We will also have our customary New Year's Eve buffet table with brie en croute, so bring table-ready finger foods to share with others! Please see our dance flyer for more information. Sunday, December 31 at 8 p.m. through Monday, January 1 at 12:15 a.m., with beginners' session starting at 7:30 p.m.; admission will be $25, at the door only.

Meeting and Potluck with Members of the Country Dance & Song Society Board: Members of the board of the Country Dance & Song Society have been invited to San Diego for a regional conference, and to become better-acquainted with our local contra dance community. All dancers are welcome to attend this event; please bring a potluck dish to share, and learn more about this great national organization, with headquarters in Massachusetts, that for over 100 years has provided education and arts services for dancers, musicians, singers, callers, and organizers throughout the United States. Be sure to stay for the dance to follow at 7:30 p.m., featuring two CDSS representatives, David Millstone and Gaye Fifer, who will be our callers for the evening! Saturday, February 3 beginning at 5 p.m. Admission to the meeting/potluck is free; admission to the dance is $10.

Our Price Schedule Anna Levitt: fiddler, vocalist, and spiritual leader of the band Crooked

GENERAL ADMISSION:
Local caller and band:  $10
Guest caller or guest band:  $12
Guest caller and guest band:  $15

STUDENTS AND ACTIVE MILITARY, WITH ID:
Local caller and band:  $6
Guest caller or guest band:  $8
Guest caller and guest band:  $10

CHILDREN 12 YEARS AND UNDER:  Free

AT OR AFTER THE BREAK:
Half-price, dependent on above schedule.

First-time contra dancers receive free passes to attend their second dance event. Refreshments at the break are free of charge.