Join us on Facebook Check out some fine contra dance videos on our YouTube channel! Email us Schedule of Dances and Special Events

Friday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7:30 to 8 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 8 to 11 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9:30 p.m. Saturday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7 to 7:30 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9 p.m. Location 3030 Thorn Street, San Diego, CA 92104  in the hall of Trinity United Methodist Church

Our Dance Schedule

Our dances are usually held on the first and third Fridays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month except when we reschedule to accommodate touring bands and callers, church events, or calendar oddities. Where appropriate, further information regarding special events is provided in the Special Events section below. For information on discounted prices, see our complete price schedule below. Please note: By popular demand, we have rescheduled our Saturday dances to begin and end one-half hour earlier than our Friday dances; please see the schedule above.

A printable PDF version of this schedule is available here.

LEGEND

Local caller or local band Guest caller or guest band Link to the website of a guest caller or band Special announcements, events, and workshops

Fri, June 1 Andrea Nettleton Jeff Spero and Rex Blazer $15

Sat, June 2 Sam Hinton Folk Festival and Family Contra Dance FREE

Sat, June 9 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Fri, June 15 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Sat, June 23 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Fri, June 29 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Fri, July 6 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Sat, July 14 ** NO DANCE DUE TO RENOVATION OF THE CHURCH HALL **

Fri, July 20 ** NO DANCES UNTIL AUGUST **

Sat, July 28 ** NO DANCES UNTIL AUGUST **

Fri, Aug. 3 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown  •  Comeback Contra Half-Price! $5

Sat, Aug. 11 Chris Page Figure 8 $10

Fri, Aug. 17 Hawaiian Shirt & Skirt Night with JoAnn Koppany & More the Merrier  •  Details below $10

Sat, Aug. 25 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Fri, Aug. 31 ** NO DANCE AT THE CHURCH THIS WEEK **

Fri, Aug. 31 LABOR DAY DANCE AWAY 2018 in Julian, CA  •  Details below Below

Fri, Sept. 7 Frannie Marr Toss the Possum $12

Fri, Sept. 14 JoAnn Koppany More the Merrier $10

Sat, Sept. 22 Contra Dance Workshop with Chris Page, 4-6 p.m.  •  Details TBA FREE

Sat, Sept. 22 Chris Page Figure 8 $10

Fri, Sept. 28 Jacqui Grennan Audrey Knuth and Erik Hoffman $15

Fri, Oct. 5 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Sat, Oct. 13 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Fri, Oct. 19 JoAnn Koppany Crooked $10

Fri, Oct. 26 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Special Events

Hawaiian Shirt and Skirt Night: Our annual August tradition continues with the calling of JoAnn Koppany and music provided by More the Merrier. All attendees are encouraged (but not required) to wear a Hawaiian shirt or Hawaiian-print skirt. Friday, August 17 at 8 p.m.; admission is $10.

Labor Day Dance Away 2018: Labor Day Dance Away 2018 will soon be here! This annual Labor Day dance weekend event takes place from Friday, August 31 through Monday, September 3, 2018 at beautiful Camp Cedar Glen in Julian, CA. The callers will be Seth Tepfer and Terry Doyle, and music will be furnished by two bands: Curious George and the ABCs (George Paul, Ashley Broder, Ben Schreiber, and Christa Burch), and Toss the Possum (Laura Zisette, Rob Zisette and guest Bonnie Insull). To register, and for more registration information, visit the LDDA registration page online; for more information about this dance event, visit the LDDA main page. Please note: Due to this event, there will be no regular contra dance at the church that weekend.

Contra Dance Workshop: Led by Chris Page. More information to follow in the coming weeks—stay tuned! Saturday, September 22 from 4 to 6 p.m.; admission to this workshop is FREE. An evening dance will follow at 7:30 p.m. with beginners' session at 7.

Our Price Schedule Anna Levitt: fiddler, vocalist, and spiritual leader of the band Crooked

GENERAL ADMISSION:
Local caller and band:  $10
Guest caller or guest band:  $12
Guest caller and guest band:  $15

STUDENTS AND ACTIVE MILITARY, WITH ID:
Local caller and band:  $6
Guest caller or guest band:  $8
Guest caller and guest band:  $10

CHILDREN 12 YEARS AND UNDER:  Free

AT OR AFTER THE BREAK:
Half-price, dependent on above schedule.

First-time contra dancers receive free passes to attend their second dance event. Refreshments at the break are free of charge.