Join us on Facebook Check out some fine contra dance videos on our YouTube channel! Email us Schedule of Dances and Special Events

Friday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7:30 to 8 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 8 to 11 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9:30 p.m. Saturday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7 to 7:30 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9 p.m. Location 3030 Thorn Street, San Diego, CA 92104  in the hall of Trinity United Methodist Church

Our Dance Schedule

Our dances are usually held on the first and third Fridays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month except when we reschedule to accommodate touring bands and callers, church events, or calendar oddities. Where appropriate, further information regarding special events is provided in the Special Events section below. For information on discounted prices, see our complete price schedule below. Please note: By popular demand, we have rescheduled our Saturday dances to begin and end one-half hour earlier than our Friday dances; please see the schedule above.


Local caller or local band Guest caller or guest band Link to the website of a guest caller or band Special announcements, events, and workshops

Fri, Mar. 2 Frannie Marr Crooked $10

Sat, Mar. 10 Schottische Dance Workshop with JoAnn and Dave, 4-6 p.m. $5

Sat, Mar. 10 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, Mar. 16 Greg Frock Emil Olguín and Laura Light $15

Sat, Mar. 24 Chris Page Figure 8 $10

Fri, Mar. 30 Erik Erhardt Tectonic Shakedown $12

Fri, Apr. 6 Chris Page Flash in the Pan $10

Sat, Apr. 14 Becky Nankivell More the Merrier $12

Fri, Apr. 20 JoAnn Koppany Crooked $10

Sat, Apr. 28 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Fri, May 4 JoAnn Koppany Patt & Possum $12

Sat, May 12 Contra Styling Workshop with Chris Page, 4-6 p.m.  •  Details below FREE

Sat, May 12 Chris Page Wild & Crazy $10

Fri, May 18 Chris Page The Rosin Sniffers $12

Sat, May 26 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, June 1 Andrea Nettleton Jeff Spero and Rex Blazer $15

Sat, June 2 Sam Hinton Folk Festival and Family Contra Dance  •  Details TBA FREE

Sat, June 9 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Fri, June 15 Frannie Marr Chris Murphy $10

Sat, June 23 Frannie Marr Figure 8 $10

Fri, June 29 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, July 6 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, July 14 JoAnn Koppany Figure 8 $10

Fri, July 20 JoAnn Koppany More the Merrier $10

Sat, July 28 Frannie Marr Crooked $10

Special Events

Contra Styling Workshop: San Diego's inestimable caller Chris Page will lead this workshop that is geared to relatively new dancers who have been to a few contra dances at least, as well as intermediate-level dancers who want to improve their contra skills and enhance their dance experience. Topics to be covered include how to be a better partner; how to establish better connection with other dancers in your line; executing twirls and other flourishes without injuring other dancers; some reminders regarding contra dance etiquette; and much more. We will also step through some of the more difficult contra dance figures at a slower pace than usual. Saturday, May 12 from 4 to 6 p.m.; admission to this workshop is FREE. An evening dance will follow at 7:30 p.m. with beginners' session at 7.

Our Price Schedule Anna Levitt: fiddler, vocalist, and spiritual leader of the band Crooked

Local caller and band:  $10
Guest caller or guest band:  $12
Guest caller and guest band:  $15

Local caller and band:  $6
Guest caller or guest band:  $8
Guest caller and guest band:  $10


Half-price, dependent on above schedule.

First-time contra dancers receive free passes to attend their second dance event. Refreshments at the break are free of charge.