Join us on Facebook Check out some fine contra dance videos on our YouTube channel! Email us Schedule of Dances and Special Events

Friday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7:30 to 8 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 8 to 11 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9:30 p.m. Saturday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7 to 7:30 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9 p.m. Location 3030 Thorn Street, San Diego, CA 92104  in the hall of Trinity United Methodist Church

Our Dance Schedule

Our dances are usually held on the first and third Fridays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month except when we reschedule to accommodate touring bands and callers, church events, or calendar oddities. Where appropriate, further information regarding special events is provided in the Special Events section below. For information on discounted prices, see our complete price schedule below. Please note: By popular demand, we have rescheduled our Saturday dances to begin and end one-half hour earlier than our Friday dances; please see the schedule above.

A printable PDF version of this schedule is available here.

LEGEND

Local caller or local band Guest caller or guest band Link to the website of a guest caller or band Special announcements, events, and workshops

Fri, Sept. 6 Jimmy Akin Flash in the Pan $10

Sat, Sept. 14 Ellie Konitshek, JoAnn Koppany Figure 8 $10

Fri, Sept. 20 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Sat, Sept. 28 Jimmy Akin presents Ars Technica Electronic Music $8

Sat, Oct. 5 Frannie Marr Figure 8 $10

Sat, Oct. 12 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Sat, Oct. 19 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, Oct. 25 JoAnn Koppany Squirrly Dan and the Roundcat Ramblers $12

Fri, Nov. 1 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Sat, Nov. 9 Jimmy Akin, Ellie Konitshek Flash in the Pan $10

Fri, Nov. 15 Martha Wild Laura Light and Friends $12

Sat, Nov. 23 Martha Wild Tectonic Shakedown $10

Fri, Nov. 29 Frannie Marr Maivish $12

Fri, Dec. 6 Jimmy Akin, Ellie Konitshek More the Merrier $10

Sat, Dec. 14 Frannie Marr Tectonic Shakedown $10

Sat, Dec. 21 Jimmy Akin Figure 8 $10

Sat, Dec. 28 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Tue, Dec. 31 New Year's Eve Contra Dance Party 2019-2020  •  Details below Below

Fri, Jan. 3 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Sat, Jan. 11 Frannie Marr Rhythm Method $12

Fri, Jan. 17 ** NO DANCE THIS WEEK **

Sat, Jan. 25 JoAnn Koppany More the Merrier $10

Fri, Jan. 31 Jimmy Akin, Ellie Konitshek Flash in the Pan $10

Special Events

New Year's Eve Contra Dance Party 2019-2020: It's not too early to purchase tickets to our grandest event of the year: our New Year's Eve Contra Dance Party 2019-2020! This year's event will feature caller Jacqui Grennan from Los Angeles, and the band will be Audacious, consisting of Audrey Knuth on fiddle and Larry Unger on guitar and banjo. Both are nationally-acclaimed, high-powered musicians who have graced our stage on several occasions, and we're honored to have them back for New Year's Eve. What's more, you can purchase tickets in advance, and save money! Please visit this webpage to purchase your tickets for only $25 per ticket regular, $15 for students and military with ID. If you prefer, you can also order by contacting Larry Wilson at one of our dances, and paying in cash, or by check made out to San Diego Folk Heritage. Either way, purchase your tickets right away, and save $5 per ticket!

PLEASE NOTE: Discounted ticket sales end Monday, December 30th. Admission at the door will be $30 regular, $20 for students and military with ID.

Our Price Schedule Anna Levitt: fiddler, vocalist, and spiritual leader of the band Crooked

GENERAL ADMISSION:
Local caller and band:  $10
Guest caller or guest band:  $12
Guest caller and guest band:  $15

STUDENTS AND ACTIVE MILITARY, WITH ID:
Local caller and band:  $6
Guest caller or guest band:  $8
Guest caller and guest band:  $10

CHILDREN 12 YEARS AND UNDER:  Free

AT OR AFTER THE BREAK:
Half-price, dependent on above schedule.

First-time contra dancers receive free passes to attend their second dance event. Refreshments at the break are free of charge.